Are you a professional golfer

Overview golf tournaments

HomeGolf tournamentsProfessional golf tournaments

On a good 46-48 weekends per year, professional golf tournaments are played on the major tournament series. With the increasing prize money, however, it is becoming more and more difficult to find sponsors for the tournaments. Some traditional tournaments had to be deleted from the tournament calendar. The two major series, the US PGA Tour and the European Tour, have always managed to find replacements. It remains to be seen whether this will succeed in the long term in view of the financial and economic crises. The dates of all tournaments of the year can be found here:
US PGA Tour European Tour.

However, some major tournaments are a permanent fixture and will certainly be held permanently. Above all, this includes the four largest and most important tournaments that take place every year: The majors.

US Masters
Augusta National, Georgia
since 1934
in April
US Open
The USGA organizes the tournament on different venues every year.
since 1895
in June
British Open
The oldest major is the Open Championship, which is always held on a links course in Great Britain by the R&A.
since 1860
in July
PGA Championship
The PGA organizes the tournament on different venues every year.
since 1916

In the past, the two most important amateur tournaments (British Amateur and US Amateur) also belonged to the majors, today the best players are without exception professionals and the majors are all professional tournaments. However, some of the best amateurs are always invited to the tournaments.

New season finale

FedEx Cup

On the one hand, to encourage more top golfers to take part in tournaments on a regular basis and to make the end of the season more attractive for spectators, the FedEx Cup was launched in 2007. It is something like the official championship of the PGA Tour. For the first time, golf will be played in playoff style. The high-value event is sponsored by FedEx.

Starting with the Mercedes Benz Championship in January and ending with the Wyndham Championship in August, golfers have the opportunity to collect points at every tournament they play. The aim is to be among the top 144 players in the points evaluation to be eligible for participation in the playoffs.

In the last four tournaments (The Barclays, Deutsche Bank Championship, BMW Championship and The Tour Championship) the most points will be awarded. However, the field of players is reduced from tournament to tournament until only the 30 best are allowed to start. In 2008, Vijay Singh's lead was so great that 22nd place was enough for him to be the winner in the final tournament. Reason enough to change the rules again in 2009.

Team competitions

Ryder Cup & Presidents Cup

Golf does not have to be a test of strength for individual athletes. Golf is also a great team sport. Every other year, for example, the teams from the USA and Europe compete against each other to determine the winner of the Ryder Cup. Each team consists of twelve players, both fours and singles are played, the form of play here, in contrast to the majors, is match play. The Ryder Cup is also hosted by the PGA of America.

In the years when the Ryder Cup is not played, there is a similar, albeit less prestigious, tournament called the President's Cup. The USA team competes against the "rest of the world except Europe" (ie Ernie Els, Vijay Singh, Adam Scott, Mike Weir & Co.).