How many countries are represented

Infographic: How many seats will each Member State get in the European Parliament? 

As of February 1, 2020, the European Parliament will have 705 seats. By the time the United Kingdom left the EU, there were 751 seats. (This is also the maximum number of seats allowed in the EU treaties.)

27 of the UK's 73 seats have been reallocated to other Member States, while the remaining 46 seats are being held in reserve for possible future EU enlargements. The 1976 Act on direct elections to the European Parliament requires member states to notify the European Parliament of the names of MEPs before they can take up their mandate.

No Member State is losing seats

The reallocation of seats ensures that no Member State loses seats. However, some Member States are adding between one and five seats to address their underrepresentation due to demographic changes.

The redistribution takes into account the population of the member states and follows the principle of "degressive proportionality". This means that countries that are smaller in population should have fewer MPs than larger countries. At the same time, a MEP from a more populous Member State represents more citizens than a MEP from a less populous country. Smaller countries are therefore relatively more represented in parliament.